Put down the phone! The Virginia Legislature passed a new law to help combat distracted driving, and the law went into effect January 1, 2021. You may no longer read or send text messages, read emails, or even talk on a phone held in your hand while driving. If you are seen driving with a cell phone in your hand, you could be issued a citation and subject to a fine of $125 for the first offense and $250 for the second or subsequent offense.
At WilliamsFord, we are happy that this new law is in effect. Distracted driving is a danger to all. The constant use of cell phones by both experienced and young drivers poses a hazard and is a frequent cause of accidents. We do not want you to be our client, and we don’t want you to cause an accident, either.
So put down your cell phone, place it in the trunk, the back seat, or in your purse, and do not use it at all if you are driving! And if you’ve been hurt by a distracted driver, we know how to help.
If you want to read the full text of the new law, Virginia Code § 46.2-1078.1, please click here.